Tags

, ,

http://www.kqed.org/arts/programs/writersblock/

A Novel by Robin Sloan

Every evening, before I go to bed, I like to tune in to NPR and listen to KQED in San Francisco’s podcasts called “The Writer’s Block”. I have the app on my iphone; as it serves as my equivalent to hearing a bedtime story. “The Writer’s Block” wades through hundreds of new books each month, plucking out the best of the lot, and broadcasts the author’s themselves reading a favorite selection (but most often the first chapter) from the carefully chosen book. Only the most well written and thoughtful works make the list.  I have found that this is a great way to discover titles that I might like to purchase in the future. My latest favorite is Mr. Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan. It’s a fresh tale that melds love, mystery, and the wonder of the emerging internet into a witty tale full of interesting and peculiarly familiar characters. You too can give the first chapter a listen by clicking on the link below. I guarantee it to be an entertaining read!

NPR Podcast: KQED in San Francisco “The Writer’s Block Podcast Page“.

